Welcome to the 2016-17 Season!

We are gearing up for the new school year. The web site has been upated to reflect the 2016-17 season. You may view the schedule online or download it as a pdf file. You may also download the CDA Dues Form for 2016-17. Emails will be going out to current members shortly.

If you are interested in joining CDA, please see our membership page or email us.

We still need additional hosts to fill out our schedule. At our current size, it is hard to accommodate everyone if we do not have at least three hosts for every regular tournament date. If you are intersted in hosting or learning more about hosting, please Contact Us.

State Finals Results

180 debaters from 31 schools competed in this year's State Finals at Wilton High School. Thanks to coach Allison Hujar, the Wilton Debate Team and Wilton High School for hosting us for the seventh consecutive year.

The topic was one of the most important international issues today: Resolved: The US should resettle a significant share of Mideast refugees.

The Varsity final round saw the Ridgefield team of Will Barth and Kunal Chauhan on Affirmative win the State Championship on a 4-1 decision against the AITE team of Tanusri Balla and Brian Fleischer.

In the Novice division, the Darien team of Paul Hager and Andrew Orner won top honors.

You may view or download the complete State Final Results, as well as the resolution package.

If you are missing ballots, please contact me, and we will see if we can find them.

If you have any questions or comments, please email us: CDA Tournaments.

Middle School Debate

The Connecticut Middle School Debate League has a full schedule set for the 2016-17 school year, including a scrimmage in October and three tournaments during the rest of the year. For more information see the Middle School Debate web site.

Other Debate News

Yale Invitational September 16-18, 2016

The Yale Debate Association will hold the 24th annual Yale Invitational Debate Tournament on September 16-18 in New Haven. Registration opens on August 1, 2016 at 1PM. This is a very popular national tournament and space fills up quickly. If you think you have students who wish to attend, you should register them as soon as possible. You will have time to correct your entries after school begins. As in past years there will be a Parliamentary division using the 7-8-8-8-4-5 APDA format. For more information and to register go to tabroom.com.

Last updated July 29, 2016.